Sledge Game

Discuss any questions about BEPUphysics or problems encountered.
Marvin

Sledge Game

Post by Marvin »

Hey,

I wanted to make a game for Windows Phone, I'm experienced with c# but kind of new to xna. I already got some 2 games with math done for practice, now I want to start on something bigger.

I want to make a sledge game, I already modelled some mountains, and used a box to test it, it works oke, but I would like to replace the box for my model. And I also would like to now how I can get the carving effect (when the sledge is sideways and under an angle it should brake and thus have an temporarily increased friction coefficient. This would be very difficult to achieve I guess, so my best bet is probably to fake it adding 2 wheels and do it like a motor cycle.

So I would like to know how I can replace this box for my own model (should be easy to do, but could not find a proper code, I'm new to making games, but have plenty of modelling knowledge so I wanted to start off).

Thanks!
Norbo
Site Admin

Re: Sledge Game

Post by Norbo »

I want to make a sledge game, I already modelled some mountains, and used a box to test it, it works oke, but I would like to replace the box for my model.
It's usually best to use a simple physics object to represent complicated graphical models. While it would be possible to create a 'physical' mesh to match the model, it would be much more computationally expensive and most likely less robust due to the complexity.

If you want a more refined physical representation than just a box, you could look into a ConvexHull or a CompoundBody composed of multiple primitives (simpler the better).

When you want to render your fancy graphical mesh, you can position it using the entity's worldTransform property. It's just a convenient composition of the entity's centerPosition and orientationMatrix properties.