Is BEPU Physics for me?

Discuss any questions about BEPUphysics or problems encountered.
goldsword

Is BEPU Physics for me?

Post by goldsword »

Hi, my first post here and I have some general questions about how well you guys think BEPU physics will suite my needs for my game idea. I can start by telling you that I've never worked with any physics library before. I'm making this game using XNA and am targeting both xbox and pc. Now, about the game.

The game will be an arcade action shooter where the play will control a character almost topdown, walking around shooting stuff more or less. The physics is important because I want to have a highly destructible world and realistic world. I would presume a normal gameplay sequence would have about 20 characters on the screen at anytime, lots of bullets and maybe 50-100 "debris objects", such as cars, barrels, crates etc. Would BEPU physics deliver this kind of performance to allow this? Would BEPU physics give me the tools for the job?

Thankful for any insight in the capabilities of BEPU physics.
Norbo
Site Admin

Re: Is BEPU Physics for me?

Post by Norbo »

Performance wise, it will be fine on the PC. The Xbox360's performance under the compact framework is significantly worse, so you'd have to be a bit more careful on that platform. 100+ active, highly interactive (stacking) objects on top of a triangle mesh could cause a performance hit on the xbox, though precautions such as offloading the physics to another thread (or using the upcoming internally multithreaded system), lowering solver quality, and letting objects sleep faster should minimize the problem.

As for the tools, what kind of things do you think you'll need? There's terrains, static triangle meshes, the various entity types and compoundbodies, accelerated raycasts, character controllers, vehicles, and a bunch more.
goldsword

Post by goldsword »