using a custom octree with bepu

Discuss any questions about BEPUphysics or problems encountered.
sueds

using a custom octree with bepu

Post by sueds »

Hi I was wondering if I could use bepu with my octree. I'm not good at programming but I was wondering if it could or if would have to create a class into your code.

cheers
Norbo
Site Admin

Re: using a custom octree with bepu

Post by Norbo »

If you mean using an octree as a broad phase/space partitioning method (first step of detection, finding possible collision pairs), you could create a child class of the BroadPhase class and implement its required functionality (updateControllers method and so on) using the octree. You could then just tell the space to use it (space.setBroadPhase()). The already in place PersistentUniformGrid broad phase is pretty quick though; I'm not sure under which circumstances an octree would be superior. I don't currently plan on implementing an octree based broadphase myself at this time (a sweep and prune implementation is possible later).

If you were talking about something else besides broad phases, sorry :D

I should also mention that if this is for a static triangle group or level geometry, the upcoming v0.5.0 has a StaticTriangleGroup class which is nice n' fast (a demo of it is shown in the latest video posted in the general forum).
sueds

Post by sueds »

I've just seen the video of the mesh collision really nice. The technique triangle static mesh is not using an sort of space partitioning ? I mean I've ask some guy on other physics engine and I've told me that they were using octree to detect the level geometry.

Can I use your physic engine in a game contest ?

cheers
Norbo
Site Admin

Post by Norbo »