The ol' belt conveyor problem aka Implementing surface velocity

Discuss any questions about BEPUphysics or problems encountered.
alektron

The ol' belt conveyor problem aka Implementing surface velocity

Post by alektron »

Hey guys,
I recently started playing around with Bepu and, coming from PhysX, I have to say, the API so far is really easy to understand and use.
At least for the more simple tests I did so far I could implement them without any problems by just looking at one or two demos.
But when it comes to implementing conveyor belt like objects I'm running into some issues. I am aware that there are already a few questions regarding conveyors in the forum, so I am already aware of the following solutions:

1. Set a velocity but reset the position every frame
Problem: While that actually works great it still feels kind of hacky to me and in a scenario where I want to simulate a large amount of conveyors, iterating over every Body that I want to act this way, this seems to me to become a potential performance issue.
On the upside, the results should be pretty realistic since it kind of accurately simulates a moving surface.

2. Modifying contacts
The other solution is something I already successfully implemented in PhysX but can't really get to work in Bepu. At least not properly.

I added an additional Property called SurfaceVelocity to BodyReference (and the corresponding Buffer in BodySet) and a HasSurfaceVelocity flag that gets set when the linear SurfaceVelocity vector has a length >0 (Since I have to check this every frame for every conveyor but only change the actual SurfaceVelocity ever so often this should be faster then recalculating all the vector lengths every frame).