Can't include Bepu into Monogame UWP project

Discuss any questions about BEPUphysics or problems encountered.
YTN

Can't include Bepu into Monogame UWP project

Post by YTN »

Hi,

I am a first time Bepu user, and also fairly new to Monogame / C# in general (I am primarily a Java developer).

I am trying to include Bepu into a Monogame Universal Windows Project application and am running into a problem. I get the following error:

Package BEPUphysics 1.5.0 is not compatible with uap10.0 (UAP,Version=v10.0). Package BEPUphysics 1.5.0 supports:
- net46 (.NETFramework,Version=v4.6)
- net461 (.NETFramework,Version=v4.6.1)
- net462 (.NETFramework,Version=v4.6.2)
- net463 (.NETFramework,Version=v4.6.3)
One or more packages are incompatible with UAP,Version=v10.0.

I know this is somehow related to the whole .net core vs standard thing, but I can't for the life of me figure out how to solve this.

FYI, this error happens when trying to use Bepu via the Nuget package system. I also tried getting the source code and building Bepu, but I have the same problem. I suspect I need to build Bepu for .net core, but I don't know how to do that. There doesn't appear to be an option to change the target to .net core vs. .net 4.6.

Any pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!
Norbo
Site Admin

Re: Can't include Bepu into Monogame UWP project

Post by Norbo »

I'm generally pretty lazy about packaged releases, hence the nuget package only having .net framework support.

If your goal is just UWP, you don't need to worry about .NET core. The desktop framework, UWP, and .NET core are all different implementations of .NET. In other words, targeting .NET core isn't the same as targeting UWP.

If you want to target multiple .NET implementations, you want to target .NET Standard, which is basically an interface to underlying implementations. More here: https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/dotnet ... -standard/