Ragdoll Joint Help

Discuss any questions about BEPUphysics or problems encountered.
Ardo

Ragdoll Joint Help

Post by Ardo »

Hi I am new to physics in general and to Bepu, I've got this working so far for my ragdoll:

Note: I render boxes for each of the joints, so you can see them in the gif. But they don't move which is intentional as I don't move the render boxes. They are just to show the starting location. Also the white spheres are lights.

I'm been looking at the Ragdoll sample but the joints code confuses me. Also In my code I only have a parent bone and child bone each time, so I can't distinguish between hip to leg or arm to forearm etc. So I was hoping there was some universal joint I could use?

My code as it generally is executed at the moment:

Code: Select all

var parallelLooper = new ParallelLooper();

//This section lets the engine know that it can make use of multithreaded systems
    //by adding threads to its thread pool.

if (Environment.ProcessorCount > 1)
    {
        for (int i = 0; i < Environment.ProcessorCount; i++)
        {
            parallelLooper.AddThread();
        }
    }

World = new Space(parallelLooper);

World.ForceUpdater.Gravity = new Vector3(0, -9.81f, 0);

public void AddGround()
        {
            float width = 10000;
            float height = 20;
            float depth = 10000;

ground = new Box(Vector3.Zero, width, height, depth);
            World.Add(ground);
        }

private void DxSurface_Update(object sender, UpdateEventArgs e)
        {
            World.Update(Atom.ElapsedSecs*10);
        }

for (int i = 0; i < rigidBodies.Length; i++)
            {
            var boxInfo = RagdollType.Info.RigidBodies[i];

var physicsBody = new Box(
                                RagdollType.boneCenters[i], 
                                boxInfo.Depth / 2, 
                                boxInfo.Height, 
                                boxInfo.Width / 2,